New ASVA Board Members are appointed

During ASVA’s Annual General Meeting – which was held via Zoom on Monday, 29 November – nominations were voted on for new Members of the Board of ASVA.

The resignation of Bruce Ritchie, Katie Waugh, Kat Brogan and Anne Kinnes (all of whom were thanked by our Chair Susan Morrison for their contributions to ASVA’s Board) had resulted in four Director positions becoming available. Our new Directors, whose appointments were confirmed during the AGM, are:

Barbara Smith – Managing Director, Scotland Brand Homes, Diageo

Pauline Young – Managing Director, Mackintosh at the Willow

Jillian Schofield – Marketing Team Lead, Falkirk Leisure Community Trust

Dr Victoria Hollows – CEO, Renfrewshire Leisure

In addition, during the meeting, it was confirmed that Sally Rae, of ASVA trade member Eden Scott Recruitment, will continue as a Board member representing our trade members for a second three-year term.

Following the official business of the AGM, our CEO Gordon Morrison provided an update on ASVA’s activities over the past year, plans for 2022, and our new five-year strategy, including our new Vision, Mission and Values. (Our five-year strategic plan is available in the Members Area of our website, under the Management Information section.

VisitScotland’s new Director of Industry & Destination Development, Rob Dickson, also addressed AGM attendees on what 2022 holds for the Scottish tourism industry, highlighting the national tourism organisation’s key priorities for the year ahead.